No, Man Doesn’t Sleep On Bread.

So I have been taking a necessary break from this blog, as you may have noticed. Every day can get exhausting. Good news, though: I took the GRE and live to tell the tale. Oddly enough, I think I did better on math than the verbal, but the vocab words I studied showed up (and most of them have appeared in recent posts).

Anyway, just now I felt like sharing.

Just a few minutes ago (9:30 pm), we were sitting on the floor of Morgan’s room, talking about how if I want to get to know God, really know him, it will be in the morning. You know how I talk all the time about rising early? Well the thing is, I would get up at 6:00 for myself, even if I believed there was no God. That’s no real virtue. I am a morning person. Oftentimes I do get up at that time, more for myself than for the Lord, and I am very productive at that time. The thing is, God wants it to be about him, so he keeps waking me up earlier and earlier. 4:45, 4:30… He says he wants me to get up so absurdly early that the only possible motivation could be meeting with him. Even if I go to bed afterward, the discipline of getting my butt out of bed for thirty minutes in the “ungodly” hours of the morning (they are actually the most godly hours if you ask me) is the strongest form of repentance I know. Revivals are born after midnight, right? I’ve said that before.

Anyway, the problem with rising early and considering oneself a person called to be on mission is that people like to stay up late. The ones we need to spend time with don’t go to bed at 9pm so they can rise before the sun.

It’s a good thing that Jesus is the bread of life and sleep isn’t. We need him more. I will rise to hear him (I hope) even if it means no sleep at all, because his words are the most precious thing I can come by. Oh that I’d give my life to hear just a little more.

This is the part in the conversation where I jumbled my words and said: “Man does not sleep on bread alone…” when I meant to say, “Man does not live on sleep alone…” (In case you didn’t get the reference, the original goes: “Man does not live on bread alone, but on every word that comes from the mouth of God.”)

Actually my bed is not made of bread. Breadbed. Okay, that’s silly. Goodnight.

About Jacquelyn Barnes

Former English Literature and Writing major at Whitworth University. Spanish Language minor. Browne's Addition Resident. Editorial Assistant at Gray Dog Press. Interested in postcolonial, multicultural, and feminist theories. Former ski racer. Longboarder. Runner. Member of Vintage Faith Community Church (we have no building). Painter. Morning person. View all posts by Jacquelyn Barnes

One response to “No, Man Doesn’t Sleep On Bread.

  • alliebeth

    Breadbed! Adorable!! Wise insights. These are the thoughts of my heart as I get up at 4:00 to open Starbucks three times a week. Lovely.

Leave a Reply

